Skip to content

Teachworks alternatives (2026)

Choose Teachworks or another tutoring tool when its integrations, parent access, subject support, or pricing model fit your school. Choose Halqora for one-to-one live classes when per-student currencies and reviewed billing runs fit your work.

Who should choose which

Choose Halqora if

  • One-to-one live classes billed in each student's currency.
  • Family invoices drafted for admin review before sending.

Choose another tool if

  • TutorBird for a small teaching team with many students.
  • Teach 'n Go for group-class schools wanting parent apps.
  • Teachworks for an established QuickBooks Online workflow.

In depth

Teachworks alternatives include TutorBird, Teach ‘n Go, TutorCruncher, Classcard, Oases Online, Wise (wise.live), and Halqora. Choose by tutor seats, student bands, lesson volume, payment costs, and currency handling; Halqora suits online academies of one-to-one classes needing per-student currencies.

Halqora is our product. We’ve tried to keep this comparison fair: competitor details come from their public pages, checked on the date shown. Tell us if anything is out of date at support@halqora.com.

Teachworks alternatives: the short answer

TutorBird’s seat pricing is worth checking when a small teaching team serves many students. Teach ‘n Go’s school software deserves a look when group classes and parent apps matter. TutorCruncher’s integrations suit agencies comparing payment and accounting connections. Those vendor descriptions were checked 21 October 2026; start with the job Teachworks does not handle the way you need.

Halqora is management software for online academies and tutoring businesses from Talt AI; Murouj Academy runs on it. Halqora schedules, bills and calculates teacher pay for one-to-one classes. Siblings can share a family invoice. A school that teaches in groups should assess the other tools first.

The cost comparison below puts Halqora in the middle of the fixed USD totals. Halqora does not beat Teachworks Growth on price in the stated example. The reason to consider Halqora is a better fit for your billing and academic workflow, rather than an assumed saving.

How we ordered them: one costed scenario

Example: an academy has 60 active students, 5 teachers, and 480 one-to-one lessons each month. The table orders comparable software totals from lower to higher. TutorCruncher is separate because payment volume changes its total; Wise (wise.live) is separate because its published session price does not state a currency. Neither can be placed honestly in a fixed USD ranking.

Prices below are as of 21 October 2026, except TutorCruncher’s US price, checked 20 October 2026. These are software comparisons, not complete operating budgets. Payment processing and separately purchased services can change what you spend.

Tool and planFormula for the exampleMonthly software cost (USD unless stated)
TutorBird pricing16.95 + 4 × 4.95 additional tutor seats36.75
Teach ‘n Go pricing60 students fit the band up to 100 live students79
Teachworks Growth pricing47.99 + 480 × 0.189138.71
Halqora Academy pricing60 × 2.50, above the 99 minimum150
Oases Online pricing60 active students fit the band up to 60199
Classcard Growth pricingGrowth selected for recurring billing199
TutorCruncher US pricing30 + payment percentagesVolume-dependent; checked 20 October 2026
Wise (wise.live) pricing480 × 0.69 per session331.20, currency not stated

TutorBird’s published price includes the initial seat; the additional teachers produce the extra-seat calculation. TutorBird says students are unlimited. Classcard advertises Starter at USD 99 monthly, but Growth at USD 199 adds recurring billing and accounting integrations, so Growth is the relevant comparison when recurring billing is required.

Wise (wise.live) also lists a Pay Per Seat option at 0.69 per seat. The supplied public pricing does not resolve whether that seat means a tutor or another user. Ask the vendor before substituting the teacher count into that formula. Do not treat 331.20 as USD or convert the figure without a stated currency.

Comparison table (checked 2026-10-21)

The comparison below summarizes workflow differences as of 21 October 2026. According to Teachworks’ integrations page, Teachworks connects with classroom services, Stripe, and QuickBooks Online. TutorBird’s features page lists Stripe, PayPal, and a Student Portal. Teach ‘n Go’s payment page lists Stripe and PayPal.

TutorCruncher’s integrations page lists Stripe, GoCardless, accounting connections, and classroom integrations. These are vendor descriptions of connections, rather than evidence that every connection matches your workflow. Check the setup and the plan you would buy.

CriterionHalqoraTeachworksTutorBirdTeach ‘n GoTutorCruncher
Pricing unitActive studentsBase plus student lessonsTutor or staff seatsLive-student bandBase plus payment percentages
Classroom approachBuilt-in classroomClassroom integrationsPublic-page gap belowPublic-page gap belowClassroom integrations
Payment connectionsPayPal, Stripe, Mercury; Wise (wise.com) matchingStripeStripe, PayPalStripe, PayPalStripe, GoCardless
Currency approachCurrency per studentDefault plus converted totalsPublic-page gap belowPublic-page gap belowCurrency per branch, plus ad hoc charges
Time-zone approachScheduling rules in each IANA time zoneFree User Time Zones add-onNot assessed hereNot assessed hereNot assessed here
Family accessPrivate links; no accountEmailed invoices with Pay OnlineStudent PortalPortal and parent appClient portal login
Accounting connectionsNone todayQuickBooks OnlineNot assessed hereNot assessed hereXero, QuickBooks

For TutorBird, we could not find a built-in classroom or multi-currency billing on their public pages as of 21 October 2026, checking the TutorBird feature list. For Teach ‘n Go, we could not find online classes on their public pages as of 21 October 2026, checking the Islamic school software page.

For Teach ‘n Go, we could not find multi-currency billing on their public pages as of 21 October 2026, checking the payment-management page. A public-page gap is a question for the vendor, not proof that a feature is absent.

Per-lesson vs per-seat vs per-student pricing

Per-lesson pricing rises when existing students take more lessons. According to Teachworks’ pricing page as of 21 October 2026, Starter is USD 16.49 monthly plus USD 0.32 per student lesson; Growth is USD 47.99 plus USD 0.189; Premium is USD 187.99 plus USD 0.065. The page also displays an older, lower price set. Confirm which set applies before deciding to move.

Example: using the stated 480 monthly student lessons, Starter is 16.49 + 480 × 0.32 = USD 170.09. Growth is 47.99 + 480 × 0.189 = USD 138.71. Premium is 187.99 + 480 × 0.065 = USD 219.19. Growth is cheapest among those calculations, although Starter has the lowest base fee.

TutorBird’s seat model behaves differently. More lessons or more students do not change its published seat calculation; more tutors or staff do. A small team with a busy timetable therefore has a reason to consider TutorBird. A growing team should recalculate seats before assuming the same saving continues.

Student bands also need care. Teach ‘n Go’s published USD 79 monthly band covers up to 100 live students as of 21 October 2026. Oases advertises USD 199 monthly for up to 60 active students on the same date. Ask how each vendor defines a counted student before comparing your roster with its limit.

As of 21 October 2026, Halqora Starter is USD 39/mo up to 25 active students. Academy is USD 2.50 per active student per month, USD 99 minimum. Scale is custom for 300+ students. Annual billing gives 2 months free; a 14-day pilot, free onboarding and data import are available. The Halqora pricing page sets out those terms.

Halqora’s student charge does not multiply when the same student takes more classes. That makes lesson frequency a useful variable to compare with Teachworks. Use the formulas with your own roster and timetable; the guide to tutoring software pricing models explains how those units affect a budget.

Alternatives for currencies and time zones

Teachworks does not charge extra for its Currency Converted Invoice Totals add-on or User Time Zones add-on, according to those pages as of 21 October 2026. Switching just to avoid an assumed add-on fee would solve a problem that the published prices do not show.

Teachworks uses a default currency, while the converted-totals add-on lets you manually set an invoice total in another currency. Halqora stores a currency on each student. Student rates, invoices, and payments stay in that currency; invoices are never converted. Dashboard USD totals are approximate and should not replace the original-currency records.

A family invoice also needs a consistent currency. Halqora flags a family account containing students with different currencies for admin attention instead of drafting that mixed-currency invoice. Halqora’s Mercury connection is USD only. Wise (wise.com) payments are matched to invoices; Halqora does not create Wise payments.

According to TutorCruncher’s currency guidance, checked 21 October 2026, TutorCruncher uses currency per branch with ad hoc charges. Compare where currency belongs in your work: on a branch, an invoice adjustment, or each student. A label saying multi-currency does not answer that question.

Halqora uses scheduling rules in each IANA time zone. An IANA time zone is a named region whose rules account for local clock changes. Before switching, check your recurring timetable in the teacher’s and student’s local views. Move the scheduling rule as well as the next class time. The detailed Halqora and Teachworks comparison focuses on those workflow choices.

Alternatives with parent apps

According to Teach ‘n Go’s Islamic school software page, checked 21 October 2026, Teach ‘n Go offers a portal and parent mobile app. Teach ‘n Go is a better candidate when parent apps and group-class administration are requirements. Halqora supports one-to-one classes and has no parent accounts or mobile apps.

TutorBird lists a Student Portal, while TutorCruncher’s public site describes client portal access, checked 21 October 2026. Teachworks documents emailed invoices with Pay Online in its Stripe integration guidance, checked on the same date. Portal access and paying an emailed invoice are different family experiences.

Halqora families use a permanent private class link that shows the next class, plus a private invoice page and PDF that need no login. Class and invoice links do not expire; an admin can replace a link so the old link stops working. Lesson reports remain internal to teachers and admins, rather than appearing on a family page.

When to stay on Teachworks

Stay with Teachworks when an existing integration removes work you would otherwise need to do manually. Teachworks advertises QuickBooks Online and two-way Google Calendar sync on its integrations page, checked 21 October 2026. Halqora does not provide those connections. Keeping a working finance process can matter more than changing the monthly software bill.

Stay with Teachworks when branch structure or white labeling determines your purchase. According to Teachworks’ pricing page as of 21 October 2026, Premium includes 5 branches. Low lesson volume is another reason to recalculate rather than leave: a usage charge stays smaller when fewer student lessons are billed.

If payment connections drive your decision, TutorCruncher also deserves a separate assessment. Its published Xero, QuickBooks, and GoCardless connections may fit an agency better. Compare the payment percentages alongside the base fee; the TutorCruncher alternatives comparison addresses that choice from another starting point.

If Halqora fits your class format, review how the billing work changes before moving data. Halqora billing runs create draft invoices. An admin checks flagged items and sends the invoices. Unpaid invoices receive automatic email reminders. Teachers record class outcomes, and completed classes require internal reports before payroll for the period can proceed.

Use the pilot to follow your own schedule, family invoice, payment match, and teacher-pay review through the process. Confirm roster currencies and opening balances during import. Choose the tool that handles your actual administrative work at a cost you can calculate, including the systems you would still need alongside it.

Last updated 21 October 2026

Questions

How much does Teachworks cost?

According to Teachworks' pricing page as of 21 October 2026, Starter costs USD 16.49 monthly plus USD 0.32 per student lesson, Growth costs USD 47.99 plus USD 0.189, and Premium costs USD 187.99 plus USD 0.065. Using that price set, Growth costs USD 138.71 for 480 student lessons. An older, lower price set also appears, so confirm which prices apply to your account.

What is cheaper than Teachworks?

In our example of 60 active students, 5 teachers, and 480 monthly lessons, TutorBird costs USD 36.75 and Teach 'n Go costs USD 79, according to their pricing pages as of 21 October 2026. Both cost less than Teachworks Growth at USD 138.71. TutorCruncher's USD 30 base, checked 20 October 2026, also needs payment percentages added before you can compare the total.

Does Teachworks charge extra for time zones or currencies?

According to Teachworks' public add-on pages as of 21 October 2026, User Time Zones and Currency Converted Invoice Totals are free. Teachworks uses a default account currency; the converted-totals add-on lets you manually set an invoice total in another currency. Halqora instead stores a currency for each student and does not convert invoices. Compare those workflows rather than treating the free add-on as a paid feature.

See Halqora with your own schedule

Book a demo