Skip to content

Makeup class policy: how many, how soon, and who pays

By Halqora team 8 min read

Abstract ribbon of fine lines crossing a faint weekly schedule grid in soft rose on a deep plum background with one saffron block, beside a reliability meter and a small bar chart.
On this page

A makeup class policy sets notice, allowances, deadlines, and who pays. As of 21 October 2026, Hidayah Network says 4 makeups per month, IQRA Network requires reschedules within 30 days, and Studio Arabiya holds makeups within 4 weeks.

Who earns a makeup class, and how much notice is needed?

A makeup class should follow a stated eligibility rule, rather than depend on which admin answers the message. Define how far ahead a student must cancel, where the family must send notice, and who confirms eligibility. Keep sudden emergencies separate from ordinary cancellations so an exception does not quietly become the rule for every absence.

Published notice windows differ. As of 21 October 2026, Eaalim’s pricing page says students must inform the academy at least 2 hours before class. Ijaazah’s FAQs say 6 hours normally, or 1 hour for sudden emergencies. These are academy promises, not a universal standard.

Record the scheduled start and the time notice arrived. A family’s message saying that notice was sent earlier needs a timestamp, especially when teachers and families use different time zones. State the class time zone in the confirmation.

Explain the result of insufficient notice in your cancellation policy template. A cancellation rule answers whether the missed lesson is charged; a makeup rule answers whether another lesson is owed. Families need both answers.

How many makeup classes should each student receive?

A makeup allowance should match the spare teaching time you can actually offer. Define the allowance per student and state whether the period is a calendar month or a course. Avoid describing a course allowance as a monthly allowance: a family could reasonably read those promises differently and expect replacements you did not intend to include.

As of 21 October 2026, Hidayah Network’s terms cap makeups at 4 per month. IQRA Network’s terms list unlimited reschedules on Elite, 4 per month on Pro, and 2 per month on Essentials. Eaalim’s page lists no cancellations on Starter, 2 per course on Progress, and up to 3 on Mastery.

IQRA Network’s Elite policy is a better fit for families who need frequent reschedules than a capped allowance. Eaalim’s course-based structure suits families who prefer to know their allowance for the course. Neither model removes the need to agree on available teaching times.

State whether teacher-caused replacements use the student allowance. A sensible policy keeps those replacements separate: the student did not choose the absence. Also explain whether unused student makeups carry forward or expire.

How soon should a makeup class be booked and completed?

A makeup deadline should say whether the family must request, book, or attend the replacement by that date. Those are different promises. Keep the deadline attached to the original missed lesson so changing the replacement date does not silently restart the clock. Tell families what happens when an academy cannot offer a suitable slot before expiry.

As of 21 October 2026, IQRA Network says a lesson can be rescheduled once, within 30 days, with the original teacher or a substitute. Studio Arabiya separates the milestones: arrange the makeup within 2 weeks and hold the lesson within 4 weeks of the missed class.

Studio Arabiya’s terms also say missing the makeup forfeits it. If you adopt that approach, explain the consequence when you confirm the replacement. Do not make the family discover forfeiture after another absence.

Keep booking mechanics outside the policy text. Your admin process for running makeups without calendar chaos can cover finding slots and linking the replacement to the missed lesson.

How do published makeup policies compare?

Published makeup policies combine notice windows, allowances, and deadlines in different ways. Compare the whole promise before adopting a rule: generous notice eligibility may sit beside a strict plan allowance. The table summarizes the supplied policy details as of 21 October 2026. “Not specified” means the supplied details do not state a rule; it does not establish that no rule exists.

AcademyNotice needed (hours)Cap (classes per stated period)Deadline (days or weeks)Teacher-missed class
TarteeleQuran6 hoursNo makeups for leave over 5 daysNot specifiedSame teacher or another teacher
Quran Sheikh6 hoursNo makeups for leave over 5 daysNot specifiedNot specified
IQRA Network4 hoursElite unlimited; Pro 4/month; Essentials 2/monthWithin 30 daysFull refund for teacher cancellation
Hidayah Network3 hours4/monthNot specifiedMade up by the teacher
Eaalim2 hoursStarter 0; Progress 2/course; Mastery up to 3/courseNot specifiedNot specified
Studio Arabiya2 hoursNot specifiedArranged within 2 weeks; held within 4 weeksWithin 1 week, no fee, if no substitute
Ijaazah6 hours; 1 hour for sudden emergenciesNot specifiedNot specifiedWhenever the student wants

The supplied source for the TarteeleQuran and Quran Sheikh policy summary is TarteeleQuran’s terms of service. No separate Quran Sheikh source was supplied, so confirm that academy’s wording before relying on its row.

Should teacher-caused makeups follow different rules?

Teacher-caused makeups should have a separate remedy from student-requested changes. A family that attended as agreed should not have to spend its student allowance because the teacher was absent. Publish whether you offer a replacement, a refund, or a choice. Keep that family promise separate from the academy’s agreement about teacher compensation.

As of 21 October 2026, IQRA Network states a full refund for teacher cancellations. Studio Arabiya promises a makeup within 1 week at no fee when a teacher misses class without a substitute. Ijaazah says students can make up a teacher-missed class whenever they want.

Studio Arabiya’s policy offers a clearer completion promise for families who value a prompt remedy. Ijaazah’s wording favors families who need flexibility over when to take the replacement. Choose the promise your academy can honor consistently.

Write down who contacts the family, confirms the remedy, and closes the missed lesson. Your procedure for handling a teacher’s absence should support the policy without making a parent chase the teacher.

How should long leave, holidays, and Eid affect makeups?

Long leave and planned closures need their own policy because they can remove teaching time across the schedule. Tell families whether the subscription continues, whether missed lessons become makeups, and what happens to an existing makeup deadline during a closure. Publish planned breaks before families commit to lessons that fall during those dates.

As of 21 October 2026, TarteeleQuran’s terms say leave over 5 days does not earn makeups. The terms also say an unexplained absence of 2 weeks may result in canceled enrollment without a refund. Present these as that academy’s terms, rather than a default rule for every academy.

TarteeleQuran also states that public holidays and Eid breaks are included in the monthly fee without refunds or credits. Its terms describe Eid holidays as paid teacher leave without makeups. That is a service policy description, not religious guidance.

Avoid using “holiday” as a catch-all explanation. Name academy closures separately from family travel and teacher leave, so families know which rule applies.

What makeup policy wording can you adapt?

Copy-ready makeup wording should connect eligibility, allowance, expiry, and teacher responsibility in plain language. The example below combines choices from the published policies; it does not describe Halqora’s automatic behavior. Use the wording after checking that your timetable and admin process can deliver the promises. Replace any promise your academy cannot reliably meet before sharing the policy.

Example policy wording

“Please send student cancellation notice to the academy admin at least 3 hours before the scheduled start. Eligible student cancellations can receive up to 4 makeup classes per calendar month. Unused makeups do not carry forward.

“A makeup must be completed within 30 days of the original class. Each lesson may be rescheduled once. The admin will confirm an available time and teacher with you. A requested time is not booked until the admin confirms the replacement.

“Teacher-caused absences do not reduce your student makeup allowance. If your teacher misses class and no substitute teaches the lesson, we will arrange a replacement within 1 week at no additional fee.

“Please contact the admin about emergencies or planned leave. The admin will confirm any exception in writing. Planned academy closures and their effect on fees and makeups are explained separately before enrollment.”

Keep the final wording beside your enrollment information. When an admin grants an exception, record the reason and the replacement arrangement so another admin can explain the decision later.

How Halqora handles this

Halqora is management software for online academies. Halqora supports one-to-one lessons and scheduling makeup classes as a separate class type, alongside regular and trial classes. Halqora also tracks rescheduled sessions with a separate status. Admins resolve cancellations and arrange replacements; teachers record completed classes with a report, student no-shows, or student cancellations. Teachers do not have a cancellation or reschedule request screen today.

Halqora does not enforce makeup caps or expiry deadlines. Keep those checks in your admin process. Class billing follows fixed outcome rules, so a written makeup promise needs to match the billing treatment you apply.

Sources

  • Hidayah Network’s terms and conditions, checked 21 October 2026
  • IQRA Network’s terms of services, checked 21 October 2026
  • Studio Arabiya’s terms, checked 21 October 2026
  • Eaalim’s pricing and plan allowances, checked 21 October 2026
  • TarteeleQuran’s terms of service, checked 21 October 2026
  • Ijaazah’s frequently asked questions, checked 21 October 2026

Questions readers ask

Do you have to offer makeup classes?

Decide which absences earn a makeup and publish that promise before enrollment. Published academy policies differ: as of 21 October 2026, Eaalim requires at least 2 hours of notice, while Ijaazah normally requires 6 hours and allows 1 hour for sudden emergencies. State separately how you handle student absences, teacher absences, and planned closures.

How many makeup classes should I allow?

Choose an allowance your teachers can deliver without displacing regular classes. As of 21 October 2026, Hidayah Network says 4 makeups per month. IQRA Network lists unlimited Elite reschedules, 4 per month on Pro, and 2 on Essentials. Eaalim instead uses course allowances. Define whether your allowance belongs to a student, plan, calendar month, or course.

Do makeup classes expire?

A makeup policy should state whether makeups expire and whether the deadline covers booking or attendance. As of 21 October 2026, IQRA Network requires rescheduled lessons within 30 days. Studio Arabiya says makeups are arranged within 2 weeks and held within 4 weeks; missing a makeup forfeits it. Keep the original missed-class date attached to the replacement.

Who pays for a makeup when the teacher cancelled?

Publish a separate remedy for teacher cancellations so families know whether to expect a replacement or a refund. As of 21 October 2026, IQRA Network states a full refund for teacher cancellations. Studio Arabiya promises a makeup within 1 week at no fee when the teacher misses class without a substitute. Ijaazah allows the student to choose when to make up a teacher-missed class.

Keep reading